Inform and Reform: Methane emissions in LNG

Events and Webinars, Latest News

6 October 2021 at 09:00 BST, 10:00 CET, 17:00 JST, 18:00 AEST

The role of independent certification in incentivising methane emissions abatement in the global LNG market.

On Wednesday October 6th, MiQ will host a joint discussion on methane emissions in the global LNG market.

In recent years there has been extensive debate on LNG’s position during the energy transition, although the issue of methane leakage during the transportation of the fuel has often been overlooked. Methane emissions have 84x greater impact on global warming than CO2 on a 20-year scale, and, as the recent IPCC made clear, its abatement is a significant opportunity in the battle against climate change.

The webinar will introduce MiQ and the LNG methane emissions standard that MiQ has worked with Carbon Limits to develop, as well as discussing the issues facing the sector as it attempts to address this issue.

The brief introductory presentation will be delivered by Saima Yarrow, Senior Adviser, LNG at MiQ, followed by an overview of the need for an LNG Standard by Stephanie Saunier, Managing Director, Carbon Limits.

Georges Tijbosch, Senior Adviser, MiQ will host the webinar. Joining the panel discussion will be:

  • Rogier Beaumont, Global Head of LNG Origination and Environmental Solutions at Pavilion Energy
  • Vincent Demoury, Secretary General, GIIGNL
  • Taku Ide, Decarbonisation Strategy Lead, Origin Energy

We would be delighted for you to join us at this event. You will be able to ask questions during the session, but if you would like to submit any in advance please send them through to [email protected]

Related